In a quiet haven

Be still and know that I am God

There has been a lot of turmoil in my life this past year and in the world these days. Many times I have cried out “Lord, help us! Rescue us!” Then in the past two weeks it got worse …. testing me to the core. A friend pointed me to Psalm 107. I read it and it reminded me of a time when I sat on this bluff in the painting, coming to peace with the death of my sweet son, Matthew. The storm is not over, and I may have to be in it of varying degrees for the rest of my life on this earth …. but when God speaks into my life, when He is working, stirring up and healing ….. He also guides me to harbor in a quiet haven.

Psalm 107:25-29  When God spoke he stirred up a storm, lifting high the waves with hurricane winds. 
Ships were tossed by swelling sea, rising to the sky, then dropping down to the depths, reeling like drunkards, spinning like tops, everyone at their wits’ end until even sailors despaired of life, cringing in terror. 
Then we cried out, “Lord, help us! Rescue us!” And he did! 
God stilled the storm, calmed the waves, and he hushed the hurricane winds to only a whisper. 
Psalm 107:30  We were so relieved, so glad as he guided us safely to harbor in a quiet haven. 

Leave a comment